Skip Navigation / Jump to Content

Featured Images

Bloody Friday
Bloody Friday

Lobey Dosser
Lobey Dosser

Three Churches

Glasgow University Library Special Collections, James Hopkirk

*Open in New Window
Three Churches

Three buildings identified by the artist Thomas Hopkirk in 1827 as those of the Gaelic, the New Light Seceders' and the Old Light Seceders' Churches.

Glasgow's first Gaelic-speaking church was established in Ingram Street in 1770. A Gaelic chapel of ease was opened in Duke Street in 1798. The churches were recognised by the Presbytery of the Church of Scotland.

The Secession Church was formed in 1733 and after a number of splits the two so-called New Licht (Light) Churches formed the United Secession Church (in 1820). Most of the Old Lichts rejoined the Church of Scotland in 1839.

Reference: Glasgow University Library, MS Murray 636

Glasgow University Library, Special Collections

Church of Scotland, churches, Gaelic Church, New Lichts, New Light Secession Church, Old Lichts, Old Light Secession Church, United Secession Church

Quick Search

Photo Album

You have 0 images in your photo album.

View Photo Album

Log-In (Optional)

Not a user? Register now for FREE!

Other Options