Skip Navigation / Jump to Content

Featured Images

Curry Kings
Curry Kings

Tennis Courts
Tennis Courts

Rangers Team, 1898-99

Mitchell Library, Glasgow Collection

*Open in New Window
Rangers Team, 1898-99

Modern day arguments over the greatest ever Rangers team would perhaps concentrate on those in living memory, but the team of season 1898-99 has a strong claim to the title, being the only Scottish team ever to win the Scottish League having won every match.

Rangers moved from Kinning Park to the first Ibrox Park in 1887. The present Ibrox Stadium was opened nearby in 1899. The Scottish League was established in season 1890-1891, and Rangers and Celtic soon began to dominate. The First Division championship of 1898-1899 was the first of four in a row for Rangers, Celtic having already won it on three occasions.

There were ten teams in the First Division in season 1898-1899, the others being Celtic, Partick Thistle, Third Lanark, St. Mirren, Clyde, Hearts, Hibernian, St. Bernards and Dundee. The only time Rangers came close to losing the record was at First Easter Road in Edinburgh, where only a last minute penalty ensured victory over Hibernian.

Reference: Mitchell Library, GC 796.334 RAN/ALL

Reproduced with the permission of Glasgow City Council, Libraries Information and Learning

football, footballers, Glasgow Rangers FC, Hibernian FC, Ibrox Park, Ibrox Stadium, Scottish League, stadia, stadiums

Quick Search

Photo Album

You have 0 images in your photo album.

View Photo Album

Log-In (Optional)

Not a user? Register now for FREE!

Other Options